Mary Lekoshere Illustrated


Pen&Ink February
January 30, 2014, 6:04 pm
Filed under: Pen&Ink February

Image

Ever wish you could do college over? Maybe you wouldn’t have slept through so many classes. Maybe you would have at least stayed awake through illustration class. Maybe you would have skipped out on society basketball-really? women’s basketball?-and spent the time in the painting room, buried in oil paint. Maybe you would have asked more questions from all the brains-on-hand, right there.  Maybe you would have done college pretty much the way you did. Maybe your ideal self only exists in your imagination.

My 20’s are months away from closing, and I’m facing a new decade. I still have art goals. (If wishes were horses…) Of course I have my hat collection to contend with.You know, wife, mom, chief baker, head laundress. You get the idea.

Truth is, you can accomplish quite a bit with a little, consistent, effort. Consistency. Not my strong-point. And it only gets harder with kids. I can’t do things on my terms. I do a lot with the moby strapped on. Sometimes you have to do things for 2 minutes, run push the paci back in, pat the bottom, return to task. 3 Minutes, run put the paci back in… oh you get it, you moms of babies. But my toddler-bless him—naps. Naps beautifully. And has a hearty “Thomas A Train” obsession. So. Here we go. A project. An inspiration. A forced diligence.
February is my pen-and-ink month. I admire this technique. I’m OBSESSED with a well crafted line. But it’s not a technique I’m not very experienced in. My ideal self would have kept improving herself post-college. Here we go again…
So, I’m going to practice. And you’re going to watch. :) New drawing every day, minus a trip to Alabama and a 2 year old’s birthday. The drawings will be posted here, on Facebook,and/or on Etsy. They will be available for purchase for $10 a piece, unless otherwise specified…
Enjoy these images nabbed from pinterest. More to come as I soak up the skills of others…
One more thing… you post a picture you’d like me to consider as inspiration to my Facebook wall MamaKingStudios. Please note the word “consider.” I make no promises. :)
7a93a332d540f9357c770698bb9f4eb1 19d68209c776a71821caa6ac4a2cffc6 b0eb35b93537eec1cb4ca482bef3896e db61c4c953a98b16cf6640008fbe4f07
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

