Mary Lekoshere Illustrated


Inspiration in the form of Hopper
February 7, 2011, 12:55 pm
Filed under: It's a popcorn night

I watched a bio on Hopper not long ago. My art library is devoid of a Hopper book, but that may be only temporary! He was not a stereotypical artist–if there is such a thing. He was conservative, anti-abstract art…

I am not against abstract art, but if you ever run across someone who is an abstract art elitist, you can direct them to Hopper for a good retort. A retort I could share, but I’ve returned the DVD to the library, and haven’t located the quote. :) But now you know. :)

Anyway, here’s some samples of his work. I like scenes of life, like he painted. Hopper inserted something else into his scenes– the feeling of isolation. A fitting vibe for his work considering he died having become something of a recluse. Hopper did illustration to make ends meet, but didn’t like the work. Yet I feel that his work has illustrative qualities to it. Perhaps he just rolled over in his grave.

Eward Hopper-- Nighthawks

one of my favorites

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

