Mary Lekoshere Illustrated


Try try again
January 28, 2011, 10:25 pm
Filed under: In Transit

The last painting came along so smoothly. Like Tiger Woods three birdies in a row today…and then came the bunkers, the rough. Sometimes you fail on a painting. This one I’ve been working on… it may not end up as one of my finest, but I may bring it to the point of being showable. The “ground”was mostly black, the root system a riot of color. It reminded me of the scene in Elf, where he makes his own meal.

So I lightened the ground color, toned back the roots. I’m planning to work in more black outline…think of my tree in Dream.

But. Imagine the outline is in place–do I outline the ground? The leaves? Can I rent an easel back at school and have Mr. Bopp giving instruction over my shoulder?! Anyway, those of you blunt enough, give me real criticism. Maybe I’ll tote this down and show my mother, who has the ability to be more honest to me than some of you southern belles. :)

here goes.

in the works

detail

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

