Mary Lekoshere Illustrated


Two Saturdays
October 24, 2010, 9:05 am
Filed under: hodge-podge, Octboer 31 Project

My career (and it is a career) of cooking is not yet four years old. And I have not been the most excellent of students, studying technique, pouring over the plethera of cookbooks available, planning new and exciting recipes each night… My kind of cooking could be referred to as “Meat, starch, veggie, check check check.”

 So the idea that I might fail is not to be counted out. Today was such a day. The Meyers were coming into town on their goodbye tour before moving to Chicago, and I planned a roast in the crock pot, a thing I have done more than once with success. I went to a po-dunk Ingles to buy a pork roast and couldn’t find one. Instead I found a beautiful beef roast and delightedly bought it. I mixed up a marinade and gravy, added butter, rubbed my meat down with salt, browned it in butter, put it in the crock pot with onion, red-skin potatoes, and carrots. The house was clean, the laundry was clean, my dinner was cooking.  And then, not too long before my guests arrived, I cut into my roast. It was still bloody. We had pizza and crazy bread.

That was this Saturday. Last Saturday, pictured, I spent with Olivia.

pumpkin pecan scone and coffee

olivia

Then we did what girls to best-shopped. And I found a fall-appropriate purse :) So I’ve stopped carrying around my green flowered spring-like cloth purse and replaced it with this beauty.

my loverly purse

And then at Goodwill, I fulfilled my wish for a “velvet” jacket. Of course, I’ve been wishing for somthing sleek like navy blue, but as it is I now own a magenta one. Reminds me of the Mad Hatter in Alice in Wonderland.

jacket... pearls were a gift from a very rich lady :)

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for letting me learn from your lesson :) Why was it still bloody? What would you do differently next time?

Comment by scatteredsunlight

cook it longer!! :) start earlier

Comment by marylekoshereillustrated




Leave a Reply

