Mary Lekoshere Illustrated


Mary, meet Edith
May 20, 2010, 3:52 pm
Filed under: Book Club

Some months ago, in book club, Catherine suggested Age of Innocence. Even though her choice didn’t win, it did win my interest. I had yet to read this book when I met Jess, my brother’s girlfriend and what name did she bring up? Edith Wharton. Coming back to Blacksburg, and poking through the used book selection in our library-what did I find but a 75 cent copy of A Feast of Words: the Triumph of Edith Wharton. Armed with a gift card, I descended on Barnes and Noble and Voila-la! here is my “feast of Edith”:) to commence in June. I will let you know what I think… In the meantime you can tell me what you think!

Edith Wharton

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Ooo, I definitely want a review from you. Age of Innocence is one I’ve meant to read for a long time, but haven’t yet.

And speaking of suggestions that spark reading at book club, thanks to you, I’ve now got Jude the Obscure on my to-read list. As soon as I finish the other three I’ve checked out from the library . . .

Comment by Rebecca

:) let me know how you like it!

Comment by marylekoshereillustrated

Yay! You have begun to discover dear Edith Wharton- she is very possibly my favorite author. Fantastic characters and extraordinary descriptions… After “Innocence” you MUST read The House of Mirth- my favorite!! Has your book club introduced you to Henry James? Another descriptive genius!

Comment by Esther

I have read Henry James! I found him delightfully humorous, but didn’t find his Portrait of a Lady very meaningful.

Comment by marylekoshereillustrated

House of Mirth is my favourite too Esther!!

Comment by jem

The House of Mirth is indeed very wonderful. Have you seen Scorsese’s 1993 film version of The Age of Innocence? It’s quite lovely!

Comment by jem

I don’t remember seeing it… i WON”T see it until I’ve read the book, however!

Comment by marylekoshereillustrated

I can’t wait to hear what you think of it! It’s still on my list:)

Comment by Catherine




Leave a Reply

