Mary Lekoshere Illustrated


final drawings for “hi jane”
February 22, 2010, 12:01 am
Filed under: Hedgehog Days

Jane picking off the petals...This, being a simple book, entails sketching a rough, then drawing the final. These are some of the finals…they will be taped to my magnificent light table, and traced unto Bristol to be painted.

I am excited to be moving and getting to “start over” with my studio… my “studio” right now is taking up a chunk of the Inn’s office. Joanne has been graciously putting up with my clutter. She likes having the studio effect, but she despises clutter. Occasionally she gets me to tidy up, but overall, she’s let it slide. I plan to have shelves when I move, so I can get the junk off the drawing table and have more space. I work and live among clutter, but I am newly determined to try to change that.

Feedback on the drawings are welcome. Seriously, tell me what you think… This is the stage where things can easily tweaked.

James bakes Jane some muffins

Jane throws away James' drawing...

James rolled into a ball...

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

have you experimented with a variety of points of view? for example, closeup, overhead, down low, from the point of view of other characters in the book, straight on (as opposed to profile)? thats my suggestion.

Comment by Robin Asire

Wellllll help me decide. Typically, when drawing the same character, I do that. I wanted this book to have a very “crude” feel–kinda flippant? Rather than a well-drawn, detailed storybook, this is more like a quirky, plain, hurried book…
But maybe publishers won’t pick up on it, and would rather see something well-developed. Or maybe I can do a diff viewpoint, without losing the simplicity?

Comment by marylekoshereillustrated

Hmmm I think that sounds like a good strategy. If you can apply the quirky plain hurried feeling consistently it will reinforce the purposefulness of it. I think it’s a good idea. If they dont like it you can always go back later and trade out a few of the images for ones with different viewpoints.

Comment by Robin Asire

yes, since this project isn’t very involved, I’m not losing much if they dont’ like it. :) thanks for the feedback… tomorrow I will post more pics. I actually have several from diff viewpoint, that were already like that. I think that’ll help break it up… :)

Comment by marylekoshereillustrated




Leave a Reply

