Mary Lekoshere Illustrated


A Chance Meeting…
November 14, 2009, 9:28 am
Filed under: Octboer 31 Project

Yesterday, as I was running errands in our little downtown area, I decided to pop into a small art gallery located on Main Street. Months ago I had been in and seen some paintings which I was familiar with. I had sold one during my internship at the Mary Praytor Gallery in SC. To my delight, I found that the Hungarian woman at the desk was sister to the artist, and he taught there at the little gallery. 

I found the door locked, but quickly opened by a giant, white haired man with a relaxed manner and a fabulous accent. He was indeed, the artist himself. He ambled around, showing me this and that. I was a kid in a candy shop. When I entered the gallery, the radio was playing… Rush Limbaugh. Possibly the first time Rush has ever been aired in an art gallery :) Peter, so the artist is named, led me to a little painting in the short hallway. The painting was tucked behind a shelf, visible, but certainly withough honor. It was a rather well-done portrait of Obama.

“My sister hates him” he explained, in his heavy accent. “She tries to hide him. He will end up in the bathroom”

Rush would have been pleased. :)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

