Mary Lekoshere Illustrated


Decisions, decisions…
October 20, 2009, 8:21 am
Filed under: Octboer 31 Project

I have narrowed it down to two choices for my “big project”…the one that will be entered in the contest for Illustrator’s annual. I have since discovered that there are TWO contest and TWO books. NYC and LA. My artist friend is entering for both and says LA is a more open minded.. So here are the two choices. Help me decide!!

1. Beauty and the Beast: A beautiful, frightened woman and a terrible, haunted beast. The gown she would wear and his clothes would give opportunity for patterns…Her hair and his would give opportunity for line.

2. Peter Pan: Peter trying to convince a dubious Wendy to come to Neverland is describing for her the wonders of the place. His vision is shown in the painting along with the two figures. Mermaid lagoon upon which sits the pirate ship. Captain Hook’s profile in there somewhere. Maybe  a lost boy or two. I love drawing mermaids.

So…. what do you think?

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

We bleed teal forever! Anything having to do with pirates is always a winner! :) No, but seriously, I think the detail and characters in Peter Pan as you describe it sound more intricate and fascinating! Go for it!

Comment by Kristi

peter pan … one of my most favorite books … that’s my vote! I can’t wait to see it!

Comment by katherine lile

I really like peter pan idea!

Comment by Rachel Summers

As much as I LOVE Beauty and the Beast…. I’m not sure you can pass up something as exciting as mermaids loungings, boys flying, pirates drinking and gambling (because apparently that’s what we do best),;) fairy spreading pixie dust all along the top… you can even implement your map skills for a treasure map too. I think Peter is an awesome idea. And I think it’s a great opportunity for COLOR. :)

Comment by Amy Copeland

I forgot about Tinker Bell. YES! And I had thought of the map-background. Not sure. This is going to be a huge piece. :) But I’m afraid that I won’t be able to scan it in, so I might have to keep it smaller. 11X17 is all the UPS store can print out. Wonder what is the biggest they can scan…

Comment by marylekoshereillustrated

I vote for Peter pan you can’t get much better than that

Comment by Jacob M.

I vote for Peter Pan!! I can definitely see that one. . .Hook’s profile, mermaids, lost boys hiding behind curtains. . .I totally agree with Amy!!

Comment by Maria Wooldridge

Ooooooh! BOTH ideas are AMAZING! I know you’ll do great with whatever you decide. =)

Comment by Patty-Wags




Leave a Reply

