Mary Lekoshere Illustrated


Come, little leaves…
October 19, 2009, 12:48 am
Filed under: Octboer 31 Project

Here you are. This is to all of you who have suggested something autumnal. And specific thanks to my cousin Patty for sending me this wonderful poem! (which I will copy/paste in a moment)

I had an easy day of it at work–getting back “on the clock” at 4 and puttering around. The movie selection wasn’t that hot on TV today… watched some of Hitch. Will Smith was making coffee on the movie, and I was making coffee at the inn. We were fiddling with similar looking coffee bags at the same time. We had a connection. :)  The coffee has sufficiently drained from my blood stream to the point that I am quite ready for sleep.

So here is today’s entry, along with a little sketch from this morning. I was sitting in church this morning and stumbled across a treasure sitting pertly in her pew, looking so very draw-able. A delicate, smartly dressed elderly lady with a generous poof of white hair. So here tis the bulletin from the church…

DSCF5375

And here is the poem that Patty sent. Only I’m not sure which is the true original version. Here is one version.

Come Little Leaves
by George Cooper

“Come little leaves,” said the wind one day
“Come o’er the meadows with me and play;
Put on your dresses of red and gold
For summer is gone and the days grow cold.”

Soon as the leaves heard the wind’s loud call,
Down they came fluttering, one and all;
Over the brown fields they danced and flew,
Singing the glad little songs they knew.

“Cricket, good-by, we’ve been friends so long,
Little brook, sing us your farewell song;
Say you are sorry to see us go;
Ah, you will miss us, right well we know.

“Dear little lambs in your fleecy fold,
Mother will keep you from harm and cold;
Fondly we watched you in vale and glade,
Say, will you dream of our loving shade?”

Dancing and whirling, the little leaves went,
Winter had called them, and they were content;
Soon, fast asllep in their earthy beds,
The snow laid a coverlet over their heads.

Come, little leaves

Come, little leaves

DSCF5373

DSCF5374

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

so whimsical and I love it!!! And the church sketch is AMAZING!!! I love pert old ladies sitting in their pew. But we have chairs.

Comment by Melissa Goff

I think I know who it is!

Comment by Rachel H.

Hey is that sweet old lady my grandma? I love it!!!

Comment by Kimberly Faber

are you serious?? haha!

Comment by marylekoshereillustrated

There are two people it reminds me of, but I was thinking Mrs. Smith…

Comment by Rachel H.

Is her name Helen Hall?

Comment by Kimberly Faber

Yay!!! Thanks for using my suggestion! I love your rendition of the picture in the poem. =)
Keep up the GREAT work!

Comment by Patty-Wags




Leave a Reply

