Mary Lekoshere Illustrated


Presenting…. da-da-da-DUM: OCTOBER 12!
October 12, 2009, 10:16 pm
Filed under: Octboer 31 Project

Well, I’ve been to dinner, and to watch Sawaya’s soccer game… at last here is today’s posting. at dinner, by the way, I ordered a SALAD, which was much better on the menu than on my plate. This gives me a great excuse to say “I can make a good salad at home, give me some fries”  :)

Today’s entry is thanks to SUE ANN PHILLIPS, who is a lovely lady who sent me a lovely poem. :) Let me paste in the poem….

Under a mushroom crept a wee elf
Out of the rain, to shelter himself.
Under the mushroom fast asleep
Curled a huge doormouse all in a heap.

Frightened, the wee elf trembled, and yet
Fearing to fly away lest he get wet
To the next mushroom was maybe a mile…
Slowly the wee elf smiled a wee smile,
Tugged till the toadstool toppled in two
And holding it over him, gaily he flew–

Soon woke the doormouse,and loud he lamented
And that’s how umbrellas first were invented.

 

And here is my interpretation thereof….

The Umbrella

The Umbrella

Detail

Detail

Detail

Detail

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I like it. A lot. You’re good at toadstools in the rain :) I believe the rain was better in this one than the Dwarves’ game, but I think I like the three Dwarves better. Just because it’s really cool. And because I love the stocky fellow to the left. :)

Comment by Rachel H.

I keep coming back to this – It’s such a great illustration…I like it more every time I look at it :)

Comment by Rachel H.

Thank you Rachel, Yes, i’m figuring out the best way to do rain. I’ve another way I need to try… For this one I painted AROUND the raindrops, giving the sky that watermark effect…which I’m not sure I want. Next time I shall use Frisket (which blocks the watercolor and then you can peel it up) and then my sky will be even washes and the rain will be white slashes…

Comment by marylekoshereillustrated

I LOVE THAT MOUSE!! its completely adorable! I want to hug it!!

Comment by Emily Haase

It’s adorable!

Comment by Pamela Pickett

So stinkin’ cute!!!!

Comment by Melissa Goff

Lol! Mary,this reminds me of the little boy and the fly-away, ufo-looking, helium balloon story in Colorado that happened yesterday! Crazy!! :)

Comment by rebekah prain




Leave a Reply

