Mary Lekoshere Illustrated


Compositions in Black and White
October 8, 2009, 1:10 pm
Filed under: Octboer 31 Project

My next three projects are based from an idea of Meribeth Morgan’s. Meribeth’s father and I are friends and we’ve know eachother, I guess, our whole lives. Only she grew up in Michigan, and I was in South Carolina.  Little did I know when I was a kid, eating dinner with her family on a visit to MI, that one day we would have one very BIG thing in common. We are both white, married to black men. We have something to celebrate, I think. And it seems to be something that is becoming more common–black and whites in it for the long term, comitted.  Needless to say, in the world of produce for the masses, we seem to be ignored. Forget movies where the white girl who can dance shacks up with the cute black boy. What does that say? We have little, if any representation of the mixed FAMILY. Therefore, I am spending the next three projects on presenting family moments in the life of a mixed couple. Meribeth mentioned dancing, so that shall be my first. However I welcome your ideas! Let’s take Rockwell to a whole new level.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

my family is mixed in the fact that my littles are black but my husband and I are “white”– Is Filipino White?? we look so GOOOD :)

Comment by rachel

It’s been a lot of fun looking for each new project! I love them all, but my favorite is “Comfort.” Wouldn’t it be interesting for someone to write a story that links all the pictures somehow? You have a beautiful style.

Comment by Priscilla Bednar

i love your site! this is a GREAT post :)

Comment by sarah

this one is beautiful, Mary :) I remember this one lady from my church in MD (Latina married to White) “congratulating” me on having a “mixed” family (White married to Latino). At first, I thought it was kinda silly because most people don’t make a big deal about it unless it’s Black and White. But in reality, it’s a mix of two very different cultures (trust me)! I like this theme and I can’t wait to see the rest!

Comment by Erin DePaz




Leave a Reply

