Mary Lekoshere Illustrated


October 1. My first project
October 2, 2009, 1:42 am
Filed under: 1

Well, it is 9:24 and I am uploading my first project. Not bad, not bad. :) Ok, so I stil have to go to Kroger, and clean up a little. But here we go…

Thank you, MARY JAASMA, a fellow artist here in Blacksburg, for the idea. She was the second one to give me an Emily Dickenson poem. The poem is as follows:

Will there really be a morning?

Is there such a thing as day?

Could I see it from the mountains

If I were as tall as they?

Has it feet like water-lilies?

Has it feathers like a bird?

Is it brought from famous countries

Of which I’ve never heard?

 Oh, some scholar! Oh some sailor!

Oh, some wise man from the skies!

Please to tell a little pilgrim

Where the place called morning lies!

 

So here is a less-than-amazing photo of my painting… feed back is welcome.

Has it Feathers Like a Bird?

Has it Feathers Like a Bird?

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

How clever! Love it! :0

Comment by Pamela Pickett

Your feather piece is a little too fantastic for me (as in fantasy world), but I really love your artistic logo–it’s self portrait, but also exudes your style!

Comment by Uncle John

I love it Mary! The outstretched arms of “morning” remind me of my little guy when he stretches his arms as he first wakes up :)

Comment by Erin DePaz

Exceptional as always! Well done Mary

Comment by Vicki Houpt

Wow, Mary! That’s really beautiful.

Comment by Julie Ball McClung

That’s awesome! Great job!

Comment by Angela

Mar mar!!!! You rock!!! Love it. Great perspective. I love the movement and the saturation. haha… I just put art words into a sentence, I have no idea what i”m talking about. But I do love it.

Comment by Melissa Goff

I’ve looked at this several times throughout the day. It’s very Mary Lekoshere – and very Emily Dickenson as well! Good job!

Comment by Rachel H.

I like it, Mary. It looks like MORNING !

Comment by Cheryl Webb

I realized I never posted a comment on this one (and of all the pieces this month, I should at LEAST comment on the one on my suggestion!! ;-). Well, I think it is beautiful! I was looking forward to seeing what slice of imagery from the poem might capture your imagination, and what a neat interpretation this is! I feel like you have captured both the elegance and bursting energy of the rising sun, as well as the sense of longing that underlies the poem’s plea for morning (that I get especially from the figure’s expression and poise – she is distant and a little aloof, you get the sense, “is this really morning, or just emily’s dream of a morning that she feels will never come?”).

I will appreciate seeing this in person, especially for the color, as the photograph clearly does not do it justice. I know you are frequently finishing late at night when you have minimal lighting options, but it might be worth re-taking the next day and/or fiddling with your settings to get a more true image of your works for this digital gallery! How large is this piece, and the others? Depending on the size, I have a scanner you could borrow for the month which would give you much truer color and a better capture. That would work for those pieces not in large format, or I could show you how to piece multiple scans together in photoshop (if you have it, or a similar editing software). Not to add extra time to the effort…maybe documenting should be a November project! Regardless, let me know if you want it.

Comment by MaryJ




Leave a Reply

