Mary Lekoshere Illustrated


And I begin.
September 29, 2009, 7:30 pm
Filed under: introduction to blog

We all, as human beings, lead illustrated lives. We have forever. From the cave paintings, to Egyptian hieroglyphics, from carved statues in deepest Africa to icons in the oldest Catholic churches. Now-a-days, most of us illustrate our lives through digital photos stored in numerous facebook albums, and art is left up to the cheery Sunday Afternoon Painter and the dreadlocked hippie, hoping to right the ills of society.

 Well, I introduce to you, an old fashioned artist. I am old fashioned, even though I am not old. Old fashioned in the sense that I use tangible, real materials, taken from nature and not a computer chip. I don’t have much choice in the matter at this point. Computer’s and I…well, let’s just say I don’t know if we have a future together. Don’t get me wrong, there are INCREDIBLE things done on and with computer’s these days. Anyone see Disney’s “UP” ? But for me, I’ll take my oils and watercolors, and even the way Arches Cold Press stinks when you wet it for stretching.

My life is a particulary illustrated one, because I was born to create. What you’ll see here, in this blog, is bits and pieces of my world–imaginative and real alike. I hope you’ll enjoy it, and feel free to become part of it–give compliments or criticism, tell me your story brought to mind by my pictures. What makes art so fascinating is the humanity inside of it, throughout it, REVEALED by it. So essentially, in this blog, you’ll see me. Mary Lekoshere, Illustrated. It’s nice to meet you.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Beautiful header…..of your head :o) Can’t wait to see Oct. 1!! :o)

Comment by Hannah Rice

I can hardly wait to see what you have dreamed and put to canvas!

Comment by Vicki Houpt

I have been a base student of an Art appreciation class.However, I really do appreciate how God has given us beautiful things to look at and those who can reproduce His majestic and simple beauty.

Comment by Dan Creps

Mary, you do awesome work. Looking forward to seeing what you produce. Nice blog site.

Comment by Pamela Pickett

Maybe you should consider being a writer too :) Your words really add to the experience!

Comment by Erin DePaz




Leave a Reply

