Mary Lekoshere Illustrated


Have Nap, Will Paint
September 5, 2013, 6:29 pm
Filed under: Will Paint
The underdrawing for a painting that may or may not get finished before Germany.

The underdrawing for a painting that may or may not get finished before Germany.

My son is known to take wonderful naps. This has been my first week, minus maternity leave, as a stay-at-home-mom, or, if you prefer, painter in residence who happens to have a toddler.
My coworker, shortly before I left, stood in the tiny room where I lived out my part-time work life, and told me if she were me, she wouldn’t be there. As in, “you’re an artist; what are you doing in an office!” It was a timely comment, a nice little launching-pad to send me into the studio. I am looking at the next four months as an opportunity to pursue art. I have been pursuing it, but not at a gazelle intense rate (thank you, Dave Ramsey) and speaking of the finance guy, “The difference between a dream and a goal is a plan.” I am a fantastic dreamer. Now onto the work!  I have four months or so til baby arrives and I am returned to the world of zombie-mama, with dark circles, and left-over maternity shirts covered in…liquids.

I’ve a smattering of projects ahead. Here’s some photos of what I’m in the midst of/recently finished. Etsy will be updated soon.

 

Part of the Salt Water collection. A crow on the beach

Part of the Salt Water collection: A crow on the beach

Salt Water collection 4 of 5.

Salt Water collection 4 of 5

I’ve had a “maybe” epiphany. Is there such a thing? Maybe I am meant to do fashion illustration. 1. I love illustration. 2. I love fashion. 3. I have always been captivated by drawing beautiful women.  Anyway, I’m going to do some watercolors combining fashion illustration meets pop-culture, and sell prints on my etsy shop.  Here’s a couple drawings: please tell me you can tell who they are! And feedback on this project is welcome. P.S. Negative feedback, also known as, constructive criticism, is likewise welcome.

_MG_0412 _MG_0411

 

 

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Ahhh Mary it’s all so lovely! However my heart is especially taken by the first painting ;-)

Comment by Ashley Wagner




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,003 other followers

